Islam, Islamic, Islamic News, Fatwa's and Islamic Business/Finance with Islam Online - The premier and trusted provider of online Islamic content.

Gelatine

Published: 24/08/2011 12:49:00 PM GMT
Related Stories

What is the Islamic ruling on gelatine and foods that contain it?


Answered by

Sheikh `Abd al-Rahmân al-Jar`î, professor at King Khâlid University in Abhâ

Gelatine is a pure protein obtained from animal raw materials containing collagen. It is most often extracted from the bones and skin of cattle and swine. This material dissolves easily in hot water and forms a jelly-like solution or freezes into a transparent jelly. This material is used in meat wrappings, ice creams, dairy products, confectionaries, gum, pasties, cakes, drinks and some medicines.

The ruling on this material depends on its source. If it is extracted from swine, it is unlawful.

Some people have suggested that gelatine has been altered substantially so as to become a completely new substance, and therefore should not take a ruling of impurity even if it comes from an impure source. However, experts who have looked into the matter have detarmined that gelatine is not sufficiently altered from its original source for it to be deemed another material.

Gelatine extracted from cattle is lawful if the animals were slaughtered in a lawful manner.

And Allah knows best.

Source: Islam Today




Loading comments ...

Advertisement







Advertisment